Talking beyond a translator

I was having my hair cut the other day and the stylist was a person who was just new in the country for around 4 months. He knew how to speak English, but as we all know, sometimes accent goes in the way of understanding each other. He was saying something and one of the assistants translated it for me. What happened was that I felt more lost with what the stylist was trying to convey. I figured that if I had listened to the stylist first before listening to my “translator” I would have understood what he was trying to ask me “If I studied here” and not telling me about “Hair fall” as my “translator” had supplied.

Just because we might not understand a language or that we might not be fully comfortable with another accent doesn’t mean that we don’t have to really listen to the person who is talking but instead to the translator. Listening and looking at the person who is talking to you goes a long way in understanding what message he is trying to convey. Sometimes going beyond spoken words and dialect is a universal language of paying attention to someone who is trying to converse with you.

One thought on “Talking beyond a translator

Leave a Reply

