Sailing to Sail

It’s been a while since I last blogged. I was having a hard time adjusting to my new work schedule.

Image

I like nature, I love the sea and if I could, I’d love to own a boat and a house beside one. Last weekend, after many years of dreaming about sailing, and months of planning of actually going for it, I’ve finally went to Taal Lake Yacht Club, the dubbed “sailing mecca of the Philippines.” Taal Lake Yacht Club, or TYLC as it is known, offers sailing lessons to non-members and believes that membership is based on learning how to sail than by money. I’ve had the pleasure of communicating with the owner Peter Capotosto, who was very patient with me and my terrible planning that went on for 3 months. I rode a Hobie 16 which can accommodate more than 4 people, since my sister wanted to join, and sailed for 2 hours. It was a great experience. Sure, I didn’t have the usual adrenaline rush from a blood pumping sport (yet) but I enjoyed very much. There’s just something beautiful about sailing. The wind science and feel of the wind, the passing of time and the freedom you have in the seas (or in this case, a lake).

I’ve been looking for a sport to get competitive into for a long while now. Although I’m not sure yet with competitive sailing, I definitely want to get better to the point where I can get my license to sail. I’m looking forward to learning more and more and I’ll probably post some of my learning here in my blog. Next weekend I’ll be going back for a race. I think some people would be kind enough to let a beginner like me crew for them.

Leave a Reply

